A Nonsensical Request

I am craving snow this summer. I grew up in the Bay Area of California, so my understanding of weather conditions is severely jaded. When my husband and I moved to Ohio for three years, my lack of experience in climate extremes became strikingly apparent. I had no idea there were so many diverse types of rain, that trees get so encased with ice they fracture from the weight, and that every now and then it can get so cold that a bustling city gives the impression that it has been frozen.

When the ice and snow blankets thick across the cityscape and most people tuck indoors in search for warmth, it awakens forgotten hopes of a world at rest.

The world all covered in white (Come now, let us reason together, says the Lord: though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow-Isaiah 1:18), quiet (In returning and rest you shall be saved; in quietness and in trust shall be your strength.-Isaiah 30:15), and stillness (Be still, and know that I am God.-Psalm 46:10). Here, in what I find to be one of the closest earthly pictures of a quiet spirit, I am able to hear my Jesus speak softly because all other voices have been swept away by winter’s kiss.

IMG_6005

So maybe snow is an unreasonable request when it is threatening to be 100 degrees outside, but quiet often feels just as ludicrous to ask for. Yet, that quiet is still available to me, if I am willing to ask God to move. I seek Him to quiet me with his love when all my other senses are being violently accosted by the demands of a dying world. I can trust Him to provide and protect, so I can set aside the striving of self-preservation. I can simply slip away into my deep hopes of knowing my God is listening, whispering, and singing over me.

Stillness and quiet do not frequently exist for me during these balmy summer days. Someday I am sure I will be needing to encourage lazy teenagers to get off the couch and engage with life, but now is not that time. Now is the time of four littles who are constantly hungry, wanting to be entertained, and are desperate for their mommy’s love. So I get food, I monitor activities, and I bend down to offer my presence that is sometimes so hard to give.

So today as the temperature climbs, and the tempers of miniature humans flare, I will follow Jesus’ lead and find a quiet place. If silence cannot be secured, I will rest in the flurries of noise, I will find peace in listening for my Savior, and I will relish making snow cones with my children. As they savor their frozen treats, I am reminded that quiet can be found even in the busiest of seasons.

IMG_5999

I have joined with some inspiring and fascinating ladies for #wholemama this summer. Our writing inspiration this week was quiet. If you need some encouragement for these days when the sun burns hot, come link up.

5 thoughts on “A Nonsensical Request

  1. Oh those little ones, desperate for mama’s love. Yes. Jesus, be our quiet when there isn’t any to be heard.

    Sno-cones are fabulous. My kids would love them. I loved them when I was little. So perfect for summertime.

    Like

  2. Chara, you take me back to my years of living in NH and NJ. You are right about the snow. When there is a white blanket and the snow is softly falling, there really is a quiet stillness that is refreshing. I had not thought of it in awhile. “If silence cannot be secured, I will rest in the flurries of noise, I will find peace in listening for my Savior…” “…I am reminded that quiet can be found even in the busiest of seasons.” Thank you for this reminder. We can rest even in the times of noise.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love the connection between cold and quiet. Somehow yes, it does seem easier to find stillness in a dark days of winter than the happy brightness of July. But yes to making space in every season.

    Like

Leave a Reply

