Just An Ordinary Sonnet

This week at #wholemama our prompt was ordinary. This word can hold the beautiful and the dutiful, so I felt a structured poem would be the best way to frame it. It has been awhile since I wrote in the repetitive rhythm of iambic pentameter, but the challenge seemed the perfect way to delight in purposeful repetition.

9QEVP5YHO3

For the Whole Mama

 

A scribe in battle with embracing plain.

I string together words so I can breathe.

A hint of holy gently floods the bane

mundane. Reminding mama not to seethe.

 

The ordinary crashes in again.

The humdrum patterns play amongst the waves

of chronic, cyclic tasks that push my pen

to write about when life does misbehave.

 

The dreams can run, still strong. I find a muse

where little people roam. Create, renew

the simple seconds into bliss. I choose

to make them coexist. The be. The do.

 

A careful dance the mother/writer soul.

A symbiotic blend. The two. The whole.

whole-mama-e1436159525205

10 thoughts on “Just An Ordinary Sonnet

  1. Chara, this is beautiful! I love the intertwining coexistence of mama/writer to make a #wholemama. I love how you describe the ordinary as something crashes in, because so often that’s just the way it happens. πŸ™‚ So glad you chose poetry again!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much, Gayl. I am having a great time dusting off old skills. Glad your son arrived home safely. πŸ™‚

      Like

    2. Me too! I really resonate with this and appreciate the way you put it into words. Thank you for sharing your gifts.

      Like

    1. I was over at Middle Places last week. πŸ™‚ Thank you for reading, and I hope you are settling in well after your vacation we saw on Instagram. It looked like you all had a blast. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for reading. It was a fun challenge to try and force my brain to write in the structure. Have you seen Lindsey Smallwood’d fun lyrical responses. They are a blast as well. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. “A symbiotic blend. The two. The whole.” More sonnets, please! I love how poetry – and especially something as limited in syllables as a sonnet – forces the poet to find the perfect words. Well done.

    Like

Leave a Reply

