Pray 31 Day 11~ Prayers for Justice

I’ve always understood mercy better than justice, but I know my God embodies them both perfectly. I hate the oppression I see in our world, and I know God hates much of it as well. I look for ways that I can work towards bringing the type of justice Jesus would love as an act of mercy to those that need it. I seek reconciliation with others, I stand up for those who cannot stand on there own, and I pray. Oh, do I pray.

Jesus,

It seems like there is so much injustice in the world.

It crawls around and drags people down.

We ask that your justice would roll through our land like a never failing stream.

Help us to turn from evil and do good, so that we may dwell where you mercy resides.

May we not seek revenge but trust in the beauty of your perfect action.

Empower us through your spirit to act justly, love mercy, and walk humbly with you, our good and gracious God.

Use us to encourage the oppressed. Defend the cause of the fatherless and to plead the case of the widow.

When we are discouraged by the darkness that tries to conquer, give us hope that your justice will move through as a light to the nations offering salvation.

We trust in you.

In Your Name,

Amen

#write31days

“But let justice roll on like a river, righteousness like a never-failing stream!” ~Amos 5:24

Leave a Reply

