Pray 31 Day 20 ~ Prayers for the Angry

” Know this, my beloved brothers: let every person be quick to hear, slow to speak, slow to anger;  for the anger of man does not produce the righteousness of God. Therefore put away all filthiness and rampant wickedness and receive with meekness the implanted word, which is able to save your souls.” ~ James 1: 19-21

God,

I want to live for your glory, and I realize that my anger does not produce that.

When these emotions rise up, it is rare that they are the righteous kind you have displayed. 

Many times it is because I have been living in my self-constructed kingdom of which I think I am the law maker, and justice bringer.

This is wrong. I know it, but I am struggling with this piece of my fallibility. 

Please teach me.

May I offer soft answers instead of harsh words.

Even in the anger that I try to convince myself is righteous, I can feel the corruption I can’t help but infect it with.

Show me the path towards righteousness and love.

Show me the source of my anger, and create in me a clean heart.

Help me to be slow to anger and quick to listen.

When the inevitable times of anger come, may I not sin but glorify instead.

For this will usher in hints of the beauty that is your righteous mercy and loving justice.

In Jesus’ name,

Amen

#write31days

Leave a Reply

