Pray 31 Day 26 ~ Prayer for the Struggling Married Couple

“What causes quarrels and what causes fights among you? Is it not this, that your passions are at war within you? You desire and do not have, so you murder. You covet and cannot obtain, so you fight and quarrel.” ~James 4:1-2

God,

I know that my spouse is a gift, help me to see them that way.

There is tension and I am tired of living in it.

I want our marriage to glorify you and be evidence of your work in our lives, but I feel my desires at war within me.

Help us to leave behind our selfish desires and be willing to love one another by offering sacrificial love.

May we fight for harmony and unity within our hearts and home.

Help us to not fear rejection from one another, to not strive for independence from each other, and to not grow apathetic towards the other.

Help us to be patient, kind, trusting, and hope-filled.

May we live out a relationship that mirrors the mystery of You and your church.

Please use your Holy Spirit to make our voices unified and filled with love.

In Jesus’ name,

Amen

#write31days

Leave a Reply

