Hey Kids, How ‘Bout These for Resolutions–For Portland Mom’s Blog

Writing @ PMB (1)

My kids are getting ready to compose their glittery goals commonly known as New Year’s resolutions. I think it’s commendable they want to learn their multiplication facts, ambitious to want to play the viola with proficiency, and fantastic that they want to be congenial to their friends. However, they are also prone to making crazy and completely useless resolutions like, watch all episodes of Phineas and Ferb.

I revel in this time of year that invites us to pause for reflection and dreaming. My heart is grateful as I glance back at the previous year and look forward to the new one cresting over the horizon. I cherish the memories made with my little growing people and the beauty already present in the trails they have begun to blaze. I am also absolutely astounded by (and slightly jealous for) the progress they make each year. My brain no longer seems capable to learn at the rate at which they acquire new skills, and appropriate unfamiliar information.

That being said, I am their mother and feel that they would be wise to consult me for some inspiration as they draft out what they hope to accomplish in the next year. They may not think they need my opinion, but since I am their mom —I am giving it anyway. “Hey Kids, how ’bout these for resolutions?!”

… Continue reading my suggested resolutions for my kids here.

Leave a Reply

